Monday, August 25, 2008

I'm destined to not go into labor. (39w3d)

I mean, what the shit?

Photobucket
Photobucket

Saw Dr. Bourque today. (39w3d)

I went to Dr. Bourque today instead of tomorrow because I was having irregular contractions all night and thought I might be leaking fluid. I'm not; it's cervical fluid/mucous, thank goodness. Still 1 cm dilated and now 60% effaced, so something's happening.

He said it could be today; it could be two weeks from now. I love that he's not rushing this process and I have time to just gestate without any issue. He said if we got to 42 weeks, he'd rupture my membranes if I'd like to try that route before going in for a section. I'll definitely opt for that, but still hoping I'll go on my own!

Friday, August 22, 2008

Okay, scratch that. Game on! (39w0d)

Just got a voice mail from my precious OB. He called to check on me and to tell me that he was heading to New Orleans but that he did speak to Dr. Padgett (who does not share rounds with Dr. Bourque nor is he on call this weekend - I know this because he's Elisabeth's OB) who said he would attend me should I go into labor!

Dr. B left me his cell number and said to call him if anything happens so he can advise me on what to do but that if I got to the hospital to tell them to call Dr. Padgett.

What a wonderful man that Dr. Bourque.

So come on baby! We're READY!!

Nothing like a last minute project. (39w0d)

Decided to redecorate the boy's room yesterday. Went on a wild goose chase for the perfect bedding and finally located it after walking the entire mall and several brick and mortar stores.

Jason's painting the room right now (he was loathe to paint over the stripes, but DeDe talked him into it finally). It's only taken me two years to talk him into this!

The room's going to be precious, though, and I cannot wait to see it!

I absolutely cannot go into labor tonight. Dr. Bourque's in New Orleans for the night and Dr. Daigle, aka "I don't do VBACs", is on call. Legs closed.

Tomorrow night would be great, though!

Went to a breastfeeding panel last night because Missy had been invited to speak. It was precious and she (and Kyle!) did such a good job. Dr. Melancon also spoke and I didn't realize exactly how passionate she is about breastfeeding. It was nice to hear it from her mouth. Her presentation was great. Ran into Darlene and she was so cute about the pregnancy. I wish she was a full time nurse over there!

Went to Alicia's afterward for Supper Club and we had a great time as usual. Was exhausted by the time I got home.

Wednesday, August 20, 2008

Fifty Days Coffee Free (38w5d)

And guess what I'm doing? Drinking a cup!

Guess why? Because I don't have low amniotic fluid, silly rabbit!

No more drinking a gallon of water a day! Drink to thirst! I can have coffee! Yippeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee!!

Yesterday's appt was awesome. Fluid was 12.1. Cervix is dilated to 1cm. 1 down, 9 to go ...

Coffee. Yum.

Friday, August 15, 2008

Thirty-Eight Weeks! Holy Smokes! (38w0d)

And so the countdown truly begins. I'm officially a week more pregnant than I've ever been. And the bizarre thing is, while I'm excited to meet this tiny being, I don't feel "done" being pregnant. Which, come to think of it, I might need to get to before labor starts ...

Anyway, today is a good day to go into labor, no? Or perhaps tomorrow when there's a full moon. Sunday would work too; that way I'd win the poll the family took. And of course, I'd get free range of name picking if I give birth on any day but Tuesday. (Jason is so convinced that the 19th is the day that he offered me a bet which I would have been an idiot not to take, especially considering the naming issues we've been having. New Baby arrives on the 19th, he gets to name it. Any other day, I get to.)

My friend Elisabeth is gearing up to go if she hasn't already. She lost her plug yesterday afternoon and was 1.5 cm at her appointment on Monday. I'm so excited for her but am a smidge envious! Though she is a week ahead of me ...

Perhaps we'll be in the hospital at the same time? (Please, God?)

Wednesday, August 13, 2008

Notes for myself. (37w5d)

Don't mind me. Just doing some research in case it's needed ...

Nipple Stimulation:
Start by applying warm compresses to both breasts, uncover one breast and begin use of pump. Using an electric breastpump, start by pumping on uncovered side for 15 min then switch sides and place warm compress on pumped side and begin pumping on other side, continue this alternation technique until regular strong and rhythmic contractions begin (usually 20-30 minutes) then stop...if contractions should begin to decline in strength or regularity, resume breast stimulation with breastpump for 5 min/side until the strength and regularity resumes. Contractions should be a minimum of (5) minutes apart lasting 60-90 seconds.

Tuesday, August 12, 2008

Appointment went perfectly today! (37w4d)

Nothing on the dilation front, but I'm okay with that. I trust that the contractions on Saturday night/Sunday day were doing something. What that something is is anyone's guess, but it's heading in the right direction!

Just waiting ...

Sunday, August 10, 2008

Prodromal Labor (37w2d)

Contractions started last night around 5 pm. Got very regular - five minutes apart - at 8 pm. Continued to stay regular even after getting in the tub until I fell asleep at 3ish am. They were three minutes apart at this point.

By 8ish am, they were gone pecan.

I'm peaceful tonight and allowing my body to do its thing. Tonight the Rx is to rest.

Saturday, August 9, 2008

Thirty-Seven Weeks + One Day! (37w1d)

The title says it all! It's awesome!!

Thought I might be in labor yesterday (again). Was contracting regularly all afternoon and through the night. Finally went to sleep after a nice bath after midnight. Woke up a couple of times with some painful-ish contractions, but nothing regular.

It's just a waiting game now!

Friday, August 8, 2008

Hayes was born at 37 weeks! (37w0d)

Today marks the day in my pregnancy that Hayes was born. And tomorrow I will be the MOST PREGNANT I'VE EVER BEEN!! I don't know why but this has been an incredibly important milestone to me and I'm just delighted that everything's right on track. Of course that remains to be seen at Tuesday's appointment, but I'm feeling good about it actually.

So I took the day off overdid it yesterday (like an absolute moron), but it was so nice to get stuff done. First I went to my prenatal massage, then to lunch with Elisabeth at Zoe's (which was delicious), then to Chelette's shop for a lovely pedicure, then to Target, then to the Mall for nursing pajamas (and a cinnamon roll from Cinnamonster - drooool), then home to rest, then to Walmart (ugh, just UGH), then to Sam's for printer ink for all these orders. Then I came home and cooked dinner for the troops which truly was delicious. Needlesstosay, my ankles were a bit swollen by the end of the night.

Today should be much calmer except I have to make an appearance at the Louisiana Open's Charity Luncheon where we give the money away that we made through the tournament and auction. It's always heartwarming, but my issue is sitting still for that long.

And Mitch is coming in today!! Yahooo!! I can't wait to see him ... it's been since our trip to Florida and that's just way too long to go without seeing my baby brother. We're grilling for the family tonight so that'll be fun too.

Thursday, August 7, 2008

Labor Index for Friday, August 8th (36w6d)

Thought this was interesting:

Photobucket
Photobucket

Barometric pressure must be dropping. I've been following the map for about a week now just out of curiosity and it's the first time I've seen a hint of orange on the map even with Edouard around.

Michael would be ecstatic ... he's heading into town tomorrow. I'm so excited to see him.

Today I'm Taking the Day Off (36w6d)

Or: the day in which my incredible husband takes my children to Kisatchie National Forest for the entire day. And the day in which I get a prenatal massage, a pedicure, and do some minor shopping for New Baby.

Or in other words: YIPPPPPEEEEEEEEEEEEE!

Bree and Bill got here first thing in the morning yesterday and we had a great day. Kids ran each other ragged all day long, Jason and Bill went grocery shopping and ran the roads a little and Bree and I just got to visit and catch up.

I'm suddenly swamped with orders, which is a great thing. But I'm scrambling to get them done before New Baby makes his/her arrival. I've got one printed ... an LSU Tiger Luau theme, complete with custom artwork. They came out cute:

Photobucket

I've got a rehearsal dinner (designed, not yet approved) along with the coordinating place cards for the dinner; a wedding shower (they're deciding on design); a dinner party (designed, not printed); and birth announcements (sort of designed on paper, not yet in the computer). (Plus our own birth announcements at some point!)

Nonetheless, it looks like I've got plenty to do before New Baby arrives!

Tuesday, August 5, 2008

Happy Half Birthday to my twinkies! (36w4d)

Today is the twins' half birthdays, making them a whopping 4 1/2 years old. Which is just insanely hard to believe. It seems like just yesterday they were born.

Photobucket

Seems like forever ago at the same time ...

Appointment went extremely well with Dr. Bourque today. No measuring of amniotic fluid level which I was so excited about. Makes me realize that he's just being cautious and not trying to stiff arm me into anything. Trust, Megan, trust.

BP was excellent. Weight gain is great (25 lbs, 6 of which has been in the last two weeks ... whoops!). Saturday will mark 37w1d, or otherwise known as "the most pregnant I've ever been". Absolutely cannot WAIT to hit that milestone!

Bill and Bree are on their way here and I'm excited to see them. It's going to be a good visit, I can feel it. A good distraction for me, that's for sure.

Sunday, August 3, 2008

Sunday BP Check (36w2d)

My friend Emily just came over to do my BP. She says I have what is called "orthostatic hypertension" which is an elevated blood pressure when sitting or standing. My initial readings were elevated, but lying down gave me 120/86, which is within normal range, albeit a little elevated for me.

It actually sort of makes sense because I'm having a little bit of circulation issues when I'm sitting or standing ... where I'll feel my pinky toe start to swell and then it moves on in and upward to my ankles. Once I lie down, though, it's all better.

I'm sure it's just a baby positioning issue and only temporary and not true PIH. So I'm just going to insist that my pressure be taken when I'm lying down at Dr. Bourque's. Problem solved. Wala!

Totally thought I was in labor in the middle of the night last night when I was woken up with strong menstrual-cramp-like contractions. Don't know how far apart they were as I didn't have a clock nearby, but they were frequent enough to keep me up for a couple of hours. Finally went back to sleep ... I guess when they petered out. Nice to know my body's gearing up, though!

Friday, August 1, 2008

Hanging in there. (36w0d)

Am so relieved to have made it to 36 weeks. Now just one more week and I will breathe easier.

Appointment went well this week. Initial check of my BP was insane -- 144/104 -- but after I asked for a repeat check, it was 122/82, which was much, much better. Jordon did an internal, much to my dismay, and I'm a fingertip dilated and softening. Not that it means much ...

Fluid level still hanging in at 6.5 cm. I think they'll do another scan on Tuesday to see where we are. Dr. Bourque mentioned that the growth scan was good for two weeks, so that means we just need the fluid to hold out and we'll be safe for another week.

Bree and Bill get here on Tuesday and I'm excited to see them. It'll be a good distraction ... hoping that I'm not having a baby while they're here!